Dr. Angela Urick

Angela Urick is an Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, and Director of the Center for Educational Development and Research (CEDaR) at the University of Oklahoma. In her academic program, she trains aspiring school and district leaders as well as education administrators in state level organizations. She specializes in leadership for school improvement for more equitable student opportunities. Through her work on academic climate and the relationship between principals and teachers, she uses innovative applications of theory and advanced quantitative techniques to understand the broader complexities of how leadership and policy decisions may influence school progress. From 2015-2017, Dr. Urick served as PI on a faculty research grant from the American Educational Research Association (AERA) sponsored by the National Science Foundation to study the extent that instructional leadership may mediate the effects of student economic disadvantage on opportunity to learn. Beyond research grants, she has also won awards for her research and teaching. Most recently, 2018, she won the AERA Division A (Administration, Organization, & Leadership) Early Career Award. In 2016, she received the Patricia L. Hardré Excellence in Graduate Mentoring, and in 2017, the Junior Faculty Award from the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education at the University of Oklahoma. As a new scholar, she was a recipient of two dissertation awards, from Emerald Publishing for Educational Leadership and Strategy, and from the Leadership for School Improvement Special Interest Group within the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Her work has been published in Leadership and Policy in Schools, Educational Administration Quarterly, Journal of Educational Administration, Journal of Education Finance, among others. Dr. Urick holds national leadership positions in her field. Over the past few years, she has served as an elected executive council member, and including Chair, for the AERA Leadership for School Improvement SIG. Also, within AERA, she is involved with Division A as a section chair for the 2018 annual meeting program, and a co-chair for the Early Career Scholar Mentoring Seminar. Prior to her doctoral program at University of Texas at San Antonio (graduated 2012), she was a high school English teacher, department chair, English Language Learner (ELL) coordinator and delivered district teacher professional development for school communities in and around San Antonio, TX.